skip to main content


On behalf of the Program Committee, you are cordially invited to participate in Earth & Space 2021: Engineering for Extreme Environments, which will be held VIRTUALLY April 19-23, 2021.

This conference is brought to you by ASCE's Aerospace Division. The Aerospace Division was established in 1971 to apply emerging and advanced aerospace technologies to civil engineering practice.

Get Involved

Get involved with an Aerospace Division Committee to advance your career and the profession.

Conference Committee

  • Conference Chair: Alaina Roberts, P.E., M.ASCE, University of Vermont
  • Technical Program Chair: Paul van Susante, Ph.D., M.ASCE, Michigan Technological University
  • Local Chair: John Koppelman, A.M.ASCE, Boeing Co. (Retired)
  • Student Activities Chair: Robert Goldberg, M.ASCE, NASA Glenn Research Center
  • Sponsorship Chair: Chris Dreyer, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE, Colorado School of Mines
  • Student Paper Competition Chair: Krzysztof Skonieczny, Ph.D., CMU
  • CTA Representative: Mike Drerup. P.E., F.ASCE
  • ASD ExCom Representative: Peter Visscher. C.Eng, M.ASCE, Canadensys Aerospace Corp.
  • Symposium 1 Co-Chairs:
    • Phil Metzger, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE, University of Central Florida
    • Juan Agui, NASA Glenn Research Center
  • Symposium 2 Co-Chairs:
    • Robert Mueller, A.M.ASCE, NASA Kennedy Space Center
    • Kris Zacny, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE, Honeybee Robotics
  • Symposium 3 Co-Chairs:
    • An Chen, Ph.D.
    • Hongyu (Nick) Zhou, Ph.D., University of Tennessee
  • Symposium 4 Co-Chairs:
    • Wei Zhang, Ph.D., University of Connecticut
    • Landolf Rhode-Barbarigos, Ph.D., University of Miami
    • Gangbing Song, Ph.D., University of Houston
  • Symposium 5 Co-Chairs:
    • Ramesh Malla, Ph.D., F.ASCE, F.EMI, University of Connecticut
    • Melissa Sampson, Ph.D., Ball Aerospace
    • Alexander Jablonski, Ph.D., P.E., Canadian Space Agency
    • Gerald (Jerry) Sanders, NASA Johnson Space Center
  • Pre-Conference Short Course Organizer:
    • Ramesh Malla, Ph.D., F.ASCE, F.EMI, University of Connecticut
  • Members:
    • Mustafa Alsaleh, Ph.D., Caterpillar, Inc.
    • S. Joseph Antony, Ph.D., University of Leeds
    • Cory Brugger, P.E., HKS Inc.
    • Yoseph Bar-Cohen, Ph. D., NASA, Jet Propulsion Lab (JPL)
    • James T. Barrett,Turner Construction
    • Dong-Ho Choi, Ph.D., Hanyang University
    • Tony Colaprete, Ph.D., NASA Ames Research Center
    • Colin Creager, NASA Glenn Research Center
    • Shirley Dyke, Ph.D., Purdue University
    • Chris Ferraro, Ph.D., University of Florida
    • Jeff Hopkins, Astrobotic Technology, Inc.
    • Kyle. Johnson, NASA Glenn Research Center
    • Sudarshan Krishnan, Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    • Seung Jae Lee, Ph.D., Florida International University
    • Justin Littell, Ph.D., NASA Langley Research Center
    • Amin Maghareh, Ph.D., Purdue University
    • Kin F. Man, Ph.D., NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL)
    • Karen Marais, Ph.D., Purdue University
    • Greg Muller, P.E., ILC Dover
    • Gregory Odegard, Michigan Technological University
    • Ju hong Park, Ph.D., POSTECH
    • Nipesh Pradhananga, Ph.D., P.E., Florida International University
    • Vikram Shyam, Ph.D., NASA Glenn Research Center
    • Robert E. Skelton, Ph.D., Texas A&M University
    • Valentina Sumini, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    • Andrew Trunek, NASA Glenn Research Center
    • Purushotham Tukkaraja, Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
    • Steve Vance, Ph.D., NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL)
    • Otis Walton, Ph.D., Grainflow Dynamics, Inc.
    • Jialai Wang, Ph.D., The University of Alabama
  • ASCE Staff:
    • Kelly Dooley P.E., M. ASCE , CAE, Director, Professional and Technical Advancement
    • James Neckel, Administrator, Technical Advancement, ASCE 
jump to top